Wednesday, June 29, 2022


Quickly have a smoke? Think twice before lighting a cigarette. Smoking is prohibited in many places.

Just like many countries, many states in the USA have a anti-smoking policy. In 28 states (Arizona, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Hawaii, Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Montana, Nebraska, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Dakota, Ohio, Oregon, Rhode Island, South Dakota, Utah, Vermont, Washington and Wisconsin), Washington, D.C., the Navajo Nation, Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands smoking is prohibited in the workplace, bars and restaurants.

In New Hampshire, North Carolina and Guam smoking is prohibited in bars and restaurants.

Some cities like New York, Chicago, Seattle, San Francisco and Washington, D.C. also prohibit smoking in public buildins like shopping malls. California even bans smoking from beaches and public parks.

Minimum age

In the USA you can buy tobacco products from the age of 21. This includes cigarettes, cigares and e-cigarettes.

Buy me a coffee
Did we succeed in helping you plan your trip to the USA? Then please support us so we can continue offering this information. => Buy me a coffee <=


Calculating the tip in a restaurant or a taxi  has never been easier. Download the Amerika Reis Tip Calculator on Google Play. Ontdek het op Google Play