Sunday, July 3, 2022
Home#GOODTOKNOWStates without sales tax

States without sales tax

Most states of the USA have a sales tax, with rates ranging from 2,9% in Colorado, to 7,5% in California. But 5 states don’t charge the sales tax. But this doesn’t mean that you won’t pay any taxes when you go shopping.

In the USA there is no federal sales tax. States decide on their own which sales tax they charge. In 5 states the rate is even 0%. But this doesn’t mean that you don’t pay taxes when you shop in Alaska, Delaware, Montana, New Hampshire and Oregon. Many states allow local governments to charge a local sales tax.

Alaska is one of the states that allow a local sales tax, so sales taxes within the state range from 1% to 7%, averaging around 1.75%. Delaware doesn’t have any sales tax, but there is a tax charged to sellers of products. The tax isn’t paid directly by customers, but is noticable in the product prices.

Montana, New Hampshire and Oregon are the best states to shop. They don’t have any sales tax.

Buy me a coffee
Did we succeed in helping you plan your trip to the USA? Then please support us so we can continue offering this information. => Buy me a coffee <=


Calculating the tip in a restaurant or a taxi  has never been easier. Download the Amerika Reis Tip Calculator on Google Play. Ontdek het op Google Play